The Ugly Side

One of my first jobs was hostessing at an expensive restaurant. I had to dress up and entered the restaurant through the front door. I always got an excellent (free) meal, which I ate in the corner of the dining room. I worked directly with the owner, who was quite charming. It was a wonderful job!

After several weeks at the job, I asked if I could increase my hours. My boss said he was in need of a salad-maker, so I agreed to give it a try. For this job, I wore jeans and a T-shirt, entered the restaurant through the rusty back door, and worked in the dingy basement, near the employee break room, badly in need of a paint job. For this work, my boss was the kitchen supervisor, who was not a happy person.

Becoming a salad-maker was my first glimpse into the huge difference between the pretty side of the business—what the customer (and hostess) sees, and the ugly side—seen only by back-room employees.  Many businesses have ugly sides, from dingy break rooms to work cultures that are disrespectful to employees.

Business and organizations that have ugly sides have not yet discovered that how they treat employees significantly impacts customers and clients.  Employees who are respected and appreciated are respectful and appreciative to customers and clients, which is good for employees, good for managers, and good for the business.  It’s all part of the same repeating pattern.

For ideas on how to create a respectful and engaging environment, check out my book, Management Culture, at mgmtculture.com.

About Denise Moreland

The dynamics between employees and managers are fascinating, and often dysfunctional. I have spent my career trying to create healthy and engaging relationships. My book, Management Culture (Two Harbors Press, 2012), identifies outdated rules and patterns, and offers fresh ideas on how we can all improve our work places. Learn more and purchase Management Culture at mgmtculture.com. Through my business, LifeGuides, I provide life coaching, facilitation and public speaking services. Please follow me on: Facebook Linkedin Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment